One Year Later…

One year ago, I published A Woman’s Choice

It has been a learning year…

Not surprisingly!

Women email, phone, inbox – and ask for resources. I give feedback and opinions – and keep in touch with the groups that downloaded or copied my book. I had one girl tell me she shared the book with her PASS group and asked “how long” would it be free on Smashwords? Forever – you just need the code. I renew it every few months. I owe Candy Jackson of Madison a huge thank you for encouraging me to do that – this shout out is to you, sweet girl, for teaching me “Smashwords” and “codes.”

PASS, oh PASS: what doesn’t ever hurt: the pain, the fear, the sadness of the quiet PASS community. Lack of education by the clergy; fear of being discovered by family and friends; and an identification with the voice of Banner.

And with the PASS community, comes the silence of reviews. I stopped asking by March – because I realized that Banner had a more important role than “reviews…” She had to just “be there, 24/7” for the women fighting PASS. I would rather talk to women than get reviews: because then, we can swap stories and connect. I meet a survivor.

My favorite thing about 2016 and A Woman’s Choice?

The women who read it and chose life – be it the women deciding to have their babies and the women who decide to mourn, forgive, and pick up the fight to put one Doc Marten in front of the other.

Happy Book Birthday, Banner. Thank you for coming into my brain and onto the page! Thank you to the beautiful women who wrote me, called me, and emailed me. I love the friendships and this year has been the best year…

Of my life.

For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord. They are plans for good and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. – Jeremiah 29:11

 

Leave a Reply

