“Mom, That Ain’t No Dog…” Or Leave It To Beaver

WARNING: THIS BLOG CONTAINS ONE IMAGE THAT MAY BE, LIKE, TOTALLY GROSS.

beaver

Oh, remember this show?! Oh, I loved the old show… But this isn’t about Jerry Mathers, ya’ll. Next. He’s not gross.

I live in Spalding County, Georgia, with the county seat of Griffin.

Griffin.png

We are famous for our meme.

Griffin.jpg

No, I never hit the bridge. We have a wonderful new bridge. Thanks for asking.

Last year, a friend of mine told me she had seen a specific critter in our neck of Spalding County.  We reside barely outside the city limits, off Everee Inn Road, that ends into Zebulon Road.  We live near the beautiful lake – and I told my friend that she was crazy.

crazy.jpg

My friend reminded me such said critter had attacked a Georgian a few years ago. She also told me she had her glasses on when she saw the critter. Google proved her correct, but I thought she was still crazy.  There is no way such a critter would be indigenous to Spalding County, Georgia. But then again, I have useless degrees, right?  I can say, “castor canadensis” is – or was – alive and well in Griffin, Georgia.

latin.jpg

Late tonight, my son and I were driving to get snacks (we homeschool and I work from home – why not?!??!) and we saw three canine carcasses on the side of Zebulon Road, within the city limits. There is nothing worse than a dead canine. Three, on the same road, is unheard of – and I travel this road at least four to five times a day.

yes

On the return home, we noticed the carcasses had been removed… Or so we thought. A large orange identifier was in a strange spot – and you bet: one carcass was left. I slowed down because part of it was still near the road.

ew

My son went, “Mom… That ain’t no dog.  Slow down. NO WAY!” He has good eyes.

I don’t.

Turn on high beams, hit the brakes, and shine on the poor critter.

Spotlight!

spot

Dead roadkill is not anything we are curious about as a high school homeschooling elective. With high beams on and my cell phone, my son identified a dead beaver – or we think it is a beaver by the remains.  The tail may be the “dead” giveaway, sorry for the pun. I have shelved many books about this type of critter as a former school librarian (think 599.4 in the Dewey Decimal System), but we have beavers in Spalding County?

beaver

We have beavers in the city of Griffin?

Yep!

Some poor car, in the city of Griffin, hit this beaver.  The police or someone put the orange identifier by the poor beaver – so people can avoid it. I would say bless the beaver’s heart, but it probably visited my home area a few times or across the street. The article my friend shared with me last year is scary: http://www.fieldandstream.com/blogs/first-aid/2010/08/beaver-attacks-fisherman-georgia. I am officially scared of beavers.

I’m also scared of roaches, snakes, bats, and anything spooky.

spooky

To my friend, of whom I said she was crazy: I apologize. To my son, “Roadkill Identification 101” will not be a high school homeschooling elective, sorry.  To my fellow Griffinites:  Slow down, ya’ll.

I’ll leave it to you… Is this a beaver?

 

IMG_3491

Disclaimer: IT GETS A WEE BIT GROSS…

 

Keep scrolling.

scroll

You are almost there.

beaver

GROSS IMAGE ALERT!

 

 

Leave It To Beaver, ya’ll!

 

IMG_3494

 

Leave a Reply

