Why We Should Have the Real Jesus On Our Minds….

love

I have been to Indiana several times in my life; seemed to be a real nice state to visit. Being from the area of Kentucky that separates the state from a simple bridge crossing, I read about the “religious right” law that just passed in Indiana that allows private business owners to deny service to individuals who embrace the “homosexual lifestyle.” Wait – you mean, people can tell gay people to “no” to any services in the private sector of business? Hey – I support small business and local business! You betcha! What a law!

I think it is a great law! I look forward to having similar laws pass throughout the United States for people who pursue their religious liberties in small business and the private sector. I hope my Georgia passes it real soon! I even hope people who support this law mark their business with the mark of their religious liberty. I encourage the supporters of this law – across any state that passes it – to put an identifying mark on their business door or window so we all can know!

Why?

I want to make sure I take my hard-earned dollars and walk by each and every business that supports this “type” of religious liberty. They do not need my money; or my kind associating with their business.

Why?

Pretty simple, really: In Matthew 22:37-40, “Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

There is nothing in the above scripture of Christianity that states we should judge people by their sins or life style. Who am I to judge? I am a sinner – I sin daily! I can slap more scripture down if people want me to. But arguing with fundamentalists is pointless. I just re-quote the above until I am blue in the face and remember I belong to the Roman Catholic faith – which has its own issues to fix.

I will take my money and support businesses that accept everyone and do not hold themselves as better or in judgement against someone because they are gay, or black, or white, or tap dancers, or are animal rights supporters, or vegan, or any other crazy issue I can dream up. I love my gay friends – and that includes my gay brothers and sisters in Christ. You mean I love people who “chose” the homosexual lifestyle?

You betcha: this straight gal loves gay people – and I have many rainbow people in my tribe. Trust me, they didn’t “chose” to be gay. I have a tombstone in a cemetery nearby of my best friend who killed himself to show you otherwise. Why did he kill himself? Homophobia. If you don’t know the term, go shop at the businesses I will not frequent when they put up their special signs. Or, if you want to become a real Christian, love people for who they are – not for what they are. That includes loving me and the many sins I have asked forgiveness for and atoned for.

If you do not approve, be sure not to give me any business too. Because my boss? He is a Jewish carpenter who died for all sins and conquered death about two thousand years ago. He suffered, died, arose, and loved everyone. At this time of Resurrection, you would think people would get that – especially in Indiana and other states who will follow with such laws.

Then, again, maybe people just do not have the real Jesus on their minds….

Leave a Reply

